How to get a West Virginia Journeyman Plumber License

  1. Meet the minimum requirements:
    1. Have completed at least 8,000 hours of plumbing or related experience
  2. Take and pass the required exam
  3. Submit an application with a $75 application fee

How to get a West Virginia Master Plumber License

  1. Meet the minimum requirements:
    1. Have completed at least 12,000 hours of plumbing or related experience
  2. Take and pass the required exam
  3. Submit an application with a $75 application fee

West Virginia Plumber Renewal Requirements

Renewal Deadline: The renewal date is listed on the certification card, certifications expire annually.

Continuing Education: There is no continuing education for a plumber’s license in the state of West Virginia.

Frequently Asked Questions

General West Virginia Plumber Licensing FAQs

Getting Licensed

Who needs to be licensed for plumbing in West Virginia?

Individuals who preform plumbing work must have a plumber certification. Plumbing work consists of installing water lines, vents, and drains inside a building. It does not include replacing faucets, washers, installing dishwashers, unclogging sinks, etc.

What are the types of plumbing licenses available in West Virginia?

  • Plumber in Training
  • Journeyman
  • Master

What is the difference between the Plumber Certification and a Contractor License with the Plumbing classification?

Everyone who performs plumbing work in the State of West Virginia is required to have one (1) of the three (3) plumber certifications, regardless of the dollar amount of the job or the individual’s affiliation with a licensed company.

Plumbing work performed over the amount of $2,500.00 (total contract amount, not just the plumbing work) requires the individual/company to obtain a Contractor License with the Plumbing classification. This requires taking the Master Plumber and WV Business & Law exams.

What fees are associated with becoming a plumber in West Virginia?

  • Exam: $51.95
  • Application: $75
  • Renewal: $75

Renewing a License

When do I need to renew my West Virginia plumbing license?

You will need to renew every year.

You need to renew your West Virginia Plumbing license by the date that is on the certification card.

How do I renew my plumbing license in West Virginia?

You will be mailed a renewal form 45 days before the license would expire. Complete and return the renewal form along with the $75 renewal fee.

Do I need continuing education to renew my plumbing license in West Virginia?

No, you do not need continuing education to renew your license.

West Virginia Journeyman Plumber FAQs

How do I get my journeyman plumbing license in West Virginia?

  1. Meet the minimum requirements:
    1. Have completed at least 8,000 hours of plumbing or related experience
  2. Take and pass the required exam
  3. Submit an application with a $75 application fee

What fees are associated with becoming a journeyman plumber in West Virginia?

  • Exam: $51.95
  • Application: $75
  • Renewal: $75

What can I expect from the West Virginia journeyman plumbing exam?

80 questions, 3 hours to complete, with the following subjects and number of questions:

  • General Knowledge – 8
  • Fixtures and Fittings – 5
  • Storm Drainage – 5
  • Fuel Gas Systems – 8
  • Safety – 6
  • Isometrics – 7
  • Water Supply and Distribution – 11
  • Water Heaters – 6
  • Draining Waste and Vents Systems – 11
  • Plumbing Math – 8
  • Plumbing Tools – 5

What does your journeyman plumber exam prep cover?

  • West Virginia Plumber Trades Exam Prep Program
  • West Virginia Business Law
  • West Virginia Fuel Gas Exam Prep
  • Comprehensive Code Review
  • Basic & Advanced Plumbing Math
  • Isometric Theory & Plan Review
  • West Virginia Exam Bulletin Breakdown
  • Guide to Effective Study Techniques
  • Video: Hands-On Practical Copper Project

Where can I take the West Virginia journeyman plumber exam?

You may take your exam at any Prov testing center.

Prov has four West Virginia testing locations:

  • Charleston
  • Martinsburg
  • Morgantown
  • Wheeling

How do I know if I passed the West Virginia journeyman plumber exam?

Exam results are available at the testing center once you complete your exam.

What happens if I fail my exam?

You may retake a failed exam as often as is necessary. There is no waiting period between testing attempts. You may not, however, retake an exam once you have received a passing score unless required by the State of West Virginia.

The retake fee is $51.95.

West Virginia Master Plumber FAQs

How do I get my master plumbing license in West Virginia?

  1. Meet the minimum requirements:
    1. Have completed at least 12,000 hours of plumbing or related experience
  2. Take and pass the required exam
  3. Submit an application with a $75 application fee

What fees are associated with becoming a master plumber in West Virginia?

  • Exam: $51.95
  • Application: $75
  • Renewal: $75

What can I expect from the West Virginia master plumbing exam?

100 questions, 3 hours to complete, with the following subjects and number of questions:

  • General Knowledge – 10
  • Fixtures and Fittings – 6
  • Storm Drainage – 5
  • Fuel Gas Systems – 10
  • Safety – 7
  • Isometrics – 13
  • Water Supply and Distribution – 14
  • Water Heaters – 6
  • Draining Waste and Vents Systems – 14
  • Plumbing Math – 9
  • Plumbing Tools – 5

What can I expect from your West Virginia master plumber exam prep?

  • West Virginia Plumber Trades Exam Prep Program
  • West Virginia Business Law
  • West Virginia Fuel Gas Exam Prep
  • Comprehensive Code Review
  • Basic & Advanced Plumbing Math
  • Isometric Theory & Plan Review
  • West Virginia Exam Bulletin Breakdown
  • Guide to Effective Study Techniques
  • Video: Hands-On Practical Copper Project

Where can I take the West Virginia master plumber exam?

You may take your exam at any Prov testing center.

Prov has four West Virginia testing locations:

  • Charleston
  • Martinsburg
  • Morgantown
  • Wheeling

How do I know if I passed the West Virginia master plumber exams?

Exam results are available at the testing center once you complete your exam.

What happens if I fail my exam?

You may retake a failed exam as often as is necessary. There is no waiting period between testing attempts. You may not, however, retake an exam once you have received a passing score unless required by the State of West Virginia.

The retake fee is $51.95.

Professional Development FAQs

What is professional development?

Things in the plumbing industry change often. As a professional in your trade it is important to keep your knowledge base up to date so you can make practical decisions for your business. Professional development courses are designed to help you improve your industry knowledge. Whether you are looking for information on new avenues to pursue in your business, wanting to brush up on best practices, or are just interested in learning about a particular topic: professional development is for you!

Is professional development the same as continuing education?

Professional development is different from continuing education. Continuing education courses are mandatory courses that your licensing body wants you to take in order to maintain your license.

State & Testing Contact Info

West Virginia Division of Labor
1900 Kanawha Blvd East
State Capitol Complex – Building 3 Room 200
Charleston, WV 25305
(304) 558-7890
licensing@wv.gov
https://labor.wv.gov/Licensing/Plumber_License

Prov
200 Association Drive, Suite 190
Charleston, WV 25311
(304) 414-0190 ext 2
https://www.provexam.com

About the Courses

Once I order the course, how long before I can start?

You may begin immediately! Simply click the Login button in the upper right-hand corner on your desktop or in the upper-right menu on mobile. Once you’ve entered your login and password, you will be taken to your courses. Follow the instructions and enjoy!

Once I start an online course, will I be able to start and stop at anytime?

Our courses are available online 24/7 and you are able to log in and log out at any time during the course. If you are going to be away from your computer for more than 10-15 minutes, simply log out. When you log back in, you will be able to re-enter the lesson you were last in.

How long do your continuing education courses take to complete?

Continuing education requirements vary by state. Each course lists a minimum number of credit hours required to complete the course.

How long do your exam prep courses take to complete?

Each course lists the total amount of hours for the course. However, we cover materials quickly and many contractors like to re-watch materials. In other words, this question really depends on your learning style. We recommend that you go through the course as many times as you need to be comfortable with the material and any applicable reference books. The more familiar you are with the materials, the better you will do on your exam!

How long do I have the courses?

We allow up to 6 months for you to complete the courses. During the six months you have unlimited, 24/7 access. If you need additional time, please contact our offices to arrange an extension (please note: a fee may apply).

Are there tests in the courses?

This varies depending on whether the course is continuing education or exam prep.

There are no quizzes for continuing education courses in Michigan. All other states with continuing education require quizzes to check completion progress.

In exam prep courses there will be a short quiz at the end of each lesson and there is also a longer practice test at the end of each course. These quizzes and tests will help you practice taking an exam and identify areas you may wish to study more.

If I fail a practice test, do I have to take it again?

Practice tests are just that: for practice. You will have the opportunity to retake the practice tests until you do pass. The practice tests are there to help you get used to the process of using your reference materials and finding the correct answers during an exam. If you don’t pass on the first try, take the time to note what sections of the material you need to review.

Once I complete a course, can I still go back and review the lessons and quizzes?

You are able to review the lessons and quizzes at any time during the six months you’ll have access to the courses.